Share This News

Hyderabad, Nov 29 – As Telangana gears up for a crucial single-phase election to the Legislative Assembly on Thursday, the state is set to witness a significant political exercise involving an electorate of more than 3.26 crore individuals. The outcome will determine the fate of 2,290 candidates competing across 119 constituencies.

The polling is scheduled to commence at 7:00 AM and conclude at 5:00 PM in most constituencies, with the exception of 13 Naxalism-affected areas where voting will end at 4:00 PM. Notably, constituencies such as Sirpur, Chennur, Bellampally, Manchiryala, Asifabad, Manthani, Bhupalpally, Mulugu, Pinapaka, Illandu, Kothagudem, Aswaraopeta, and Bhadrachalam fall under this category.

With a diverse electorate, comprising over 1.62 crore male voters, more than 1.63 crore female voters, and 2,676 transgenders, the election authorities have made extensive preparations. L B Nagar constituency boasts the highest number of candidates with 48, while Narayanpet has the lowest with seven contestants.

To ensure a smooth and orderly polling process, more than 2.08 lakh polling staff have been deployed across 35,655 polling stations. Elaborate security arrangements, involving over 45,000 personnel, including paramilitary forces and 35,500 Home Guards, have been put in place. Additionally, approximately 1800 squads are tasked with monitoring and preventing irregularities during the election.

As part of precautionary measures, the sale of liquor has been banned until the conclusion of polling, and restrictions on the broadcast of election-related news have been imposed for the next 48 hours.

The conclusion of an intense campaign marked by extensive rallies and public engagements occurred on Tuesday at 5:00 PM. The law enforcement agencies have been vigilant, seizing assets such as cash, gold, liquor, and freebies worth over Rs 737 crore since the model code of conduct came into effect on October 9.

The eagerly awaited results of the Telangana Legislative Assembly election will be declared on December 3, alongside other states, including Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, and Mizoram. The outcome of this election will shape the political landscape and governance priorities in the state