Share This News

New Delhi, Dec 20 – A total of 12 teams are set to compete in the 2nd Khelo India Sub Junior Women’s Hockey League – Phase 1 that will begin at Major Dhyan Chand Hockey Stadium in New Delhi on Thursday and conclude on December 30.

Split into two pools, the tournament’s Pool A includes SAI Shakti Team, Khalsa Hockey Academy, Amritsar, Raja Karan Hockey Academy, Khelo India Sports Excellence Centre, Chhattisgarh, Anantpur Sports Academy, and Odisha Naval Tata Hockey High Performance Centre. Pool B comprises SAI Bal Team, Pritam Siwach Hockey Academy, Ghumanhera Risers Hockey Academy, Jai Bharat Hockey Academy, Salute Hockey Academy, and Bhai Behlo Hockey Academy, Bhagta.

The competition adopts a round-robin format where each team in their respective groups faces off against the others. Victories earn a team three points, while draws secure one point, with no points given for a loss.

Speaking about the upcoming event, Hockey India President Padma Shri Dr. Dilip Tirkey said, “The tournament offers our athletes an extra stage to showcase their talents and hone their skills in a competitive setting. I’m thrilled and looking forward to witnessing the rise of new talents from these tournaments. It’s an opportunity to spot potential stars whom we can nurture through our national program.”

“I am sure that competitions like these will inspire more young girls across the nation to take up this wonderful sport and pursue their dreams on the hockey field. My heartfelt best wishes go out to all the players and teams gearing up for Phase 1 of the second Khelo India Sub Junior Women’s Hockey League,” he added.