Share This News

Bhopal, Dec 20 – Erstwhile Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar was unanimously elected on Wednesday as Speaker of Madhya Pradesh’s newly-constituted 16th Assembly.

Tomar’s name was proposed by Chief Minister Mohan Yadav, former CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan, ex-ministers Kailash Vijayvargiya and Bhupendra Singh, and senior Congress leaders Ajay Singh, Rajendra Kumar Singh, and Jaivardhan Singh.

The proposal was seconded by Leader of the Opposition Umang Singhar, Prahalad Patel, Rajendra Shukla, Ramniwas Rawat, Hemant Katare, and Tulsiram Silawat.

Subsequently, Pro-tem Speaker Gopal Bhargava declared Tomar elected.