Share This News

Thiruvananthapuram, Dec 16 – Ryûsuke Hamaguchi’s ‘Evil Does Not Exist’ won the Suvarna Chakoram for the Best Film at the 28th IFFK, which concluded with a grand closing ceremony at Nishagandhi Auditorium here on Friday evening.

The Japanese film portrays the aftermath of industrialization in a village.
The Uzbekistan film ‘Sunday,’ about the life of an old couple and directed by Shokir Kholikov, won the Rajatha Chakoram for the Best Director.
The Malayalam film ‘Thadavu’ won the Audience Choice Award and Anand Ekarshi’s ‘Attam’ bagged the NETPAC Award for the Best Malayalam Film.

Sunday’s director, Shokir Kolikov, won the Netpac Award for the Best Asian Film, in addition to the Rajatha Chakoram for the Best Director.
‘Sunday’ is Uzbek director Kolikov’s first feature film. Spanish director Felipe Carmona’s ‘Prison in the Andes’ won the FIPRESI award for the best film in the International Competition category.
Shruthi Saranyam, the director of ‘B32 to 44,’ won the FIPRESI Award for the Best Malayalam Debut Director. Uttam Kamati’s ‘Kherwal’ has been selected for the FFSI – KR Mohanan Award for the Best Debut Director from India.
Miguel Hernández and Mario Martinez won the award for Sound Design for the Mexican film ‘All the Silence.’ Polish director Krzysztof Zanussi received the Lifetime Achievement Award from Adoor Gopalakrishnan in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the film industry.

In the closing ceremony, actor Prakash Raj was the chief guest. Cuban Ambassador Alejandro Simancas Marin was the distinguished guest.
Filmmakers Jorge Luis Sanchez, Alejandro Gil, and producer Rosa Maria Valdez, representing the International Jury, were honoured along with Cuban delegates.
VK Prashant MLA presided over the event. Mayor Arya Rajendran, Cultural Affairs Secretary Mini Antony, Jury Chairperson and Portuguese Director Rita Azevedo Gomes, Chalachitra Academy Chairman Ranjith, Festival Curator Golda Sellam, KSFDC Chairman Shaji N Karun, Kerala Cultural Activists’ Welfare Fund Board Chairman Madhupal, District Panchayat President Adv. D Suresh Kumar, Chalachitra Academy Vice Chairman Premkumar, Chalachitra Academy Secretary C Ajoy, and others attendd the event.

At 5 pm, “Wind of Rhythm,” a Karnatic, Folk, and Cinematic fusion, preceded the closing ceremony.
A total of 11 awards were presented, including the Suvarna Chakoram (Golden Crow Pheasant) Award for the Best Feature Film, the Rajata Chakoram (Silver Crow Pheasant) Award for the Best Debut Director, the Best Director, and the Audience Choice Award.

Other awards include the FIPRESCI Award for the Best Competition Film and the Best Debut Malayalam Director, the NETPAC Award for the Best Asian Film and the Best Malayalam Film, the K R Mohanan Endowment Award, the Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Spirit of Cinema Award.
The Suvarna Chakoram carries a cash prize of Rs. 20 Lakh, while the others carry cash prizes as follows: Silver Chakoram (Rs. 4 Lakh), the Best Debut Director (Rs. 3 Lakh), Audience Choice Award (Rs. 2 Lakh), and the K R Mohanan Award for the Best Debut Indian Director (Rs. 1 Lakh).
Considering the overall contribution to the film industry, Chalachitra Academy has also instituted Lifetime Achievement and Spirit of Cinema awards exclusively for directors. The prize money for the Lifetime Achievement Award is Rs. 5 Lakh.