Share This News

Hyderabad, Dec 4 – Amidst tight security, the crucial meeting of the Congress Legislature party (CLP) began at a hotel here on Monday to elect their Legislature party leader.

The meeting attended by all the newly elected congress MLAs, held in the presence of senior leader and AICC observers to decide their Legislature party leader to form the government in Telangana.

After grabbing 64 seats, above the magic figure in the 119-member legislative assembly, Telangana Congress President A Revanth Reddy along with Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister D K Shivakumar, AICC in-charge of Telangana Manikrao Thakre and former TPCC president Utta Kumar Reddy on Sunday night met governor Dr Tamilisai Soundarajan and staked claim to form the government.

Speaking to reporters after the meeting with the Governor, Shivakumar said they submitted a letter to the governor stating they have a clear majority to form the government.

When asked about the election of the party’s legislature party leader, Shivakumar without disclosing any further, he said that “We have a procedure in the Congress party, we will follow that”.

The Congress delegation urged her to invite the Congress, which is the single largest party, to form the government.

The 56-year-old Revanth, who is the top contender for CM’s post , won from Kondangal constituency with a margin of over 32,000 votes defeating his closest rival BRS candidate Patnam Narender Reddy. However, he lost from Kamareddy, where BJP candidate Katipally Venkata Ramana Reddy won the seat.

After facing a defeat, K Chandrashekar Rao (KCR) on Sunday evening submitted his resignation to Governor Dr Tamilisai.

KCR has sent his resignation through a messenger which was accepted by the Governor.