Share This News

Harare, Dec 18 – The final two spots for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier have been sealed, with Uganda and Zimbabwe booking their tickets via the Africa Qualifier.

The tournament hosts and Zimbabwe went undefeated to top their groups, before winning their semi-finals over Tanzania and Namibia respectively to seal their path. Zimbabwe went on to beat Uganda in the final for the tournament trophy.

Concy Aweko’s Uganda were kept on their toes in their semi-final against Tanzania, in a hole at 5/3 in the fifth over after being put in to bat. A rebuild by Stephani Nampiina (51) and Rita Musamali (35*) lifted the side to 99/4, a tricky total in bowler-friendly conditions.

Tanzania looked comfortable in reply at 53/1 in the 13th over, only for all-rounder Janet Mbabazi to break the partnership of Saum Mtae (35) and Monica Pascal (15), removing the latter with the help

of Lorna Anyait in the field, an ICC report said.

Mbabazi then ran out Mtae and claimed two more wickets to finish with 3/14, as Musamali returned

to take three of the last four wickets with the ball, finishing with 3/11 (3) to help seal a 10-run win and claim Player of the Match honours.

Now just a step away from a T20 World Cup qualification of their own, the work from Uganda’s women complete a rousing 2023 for cricket in the country, with the men already having qualified for the 20-team global tournament in the USA and West Indies next year.

Zimbabwe meanwhile clinched their spot with a comfortable 86-run victory over Namibia.

Every member of the Zimbabwe top four made over 20, with wicket-keeper Modester Mupachikwa’s 33 leading the side to 150/6. Edelle van Zyl was the only Namibian to pass 20 in reply, as Zimbabwe pressed on through a collective bowling effort led by Precious Marange’s 3/9 (4). Nomvelo Sibanda (2/8 off three overs) and Josephine Nkomo (2/4 off three overs) stifled the Namibians, who were bowled out for 64.

Zimbabwe went on to chase down Uganda’s 79 in the tournament final, with Marange’s 5/7 (4), which included a hat-trick, earning her the Player of the Final accolade.

The African pair join Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Sri Lanka, Thailand, UAE, USA and Vanuatu at the ten-team Global Qualifier, which will determine the final two T20 World Cup 2024 spots, with the tournament held across September and October in Bangladesh.

The hosts, as well as Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies are already confirmed entrants at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2024.