Share This News

Hyderabad, Nov 17: 2290 candidates are left in the fray for the November 30 Telangana Assembly Elections, after withdrawal of nominations, Chief Electoral officer Vikas Raj said in a release here on Thursday.
Battle lines are drawn for the high-voltage in the assembly elections in the state with the withdrawal of 608 candidates on Wednesday, the last day for withdrawal of nominations.
A total of 2898 nomination papers were found valid for 119 assembly seats in Telangana.
Voting for the single-phase Assembly Election to 119 assembly constituencies will be held on November 30 and counting will take place on December 3.
With the withdrawal of the nomination process ending, major political parties are set to intensify their campaign and make last-ditch efforts to win over the voters.
Several rebel candidates, including some key leaders, withdrew from the poll race on the last day of withdrawal of nomination on Wednesday.
Many candidates are fighting as independent candidates while some have joined other smaller parties.
The highest number of 44 candidates are in the fray from Gajwel assembly constituency where BRS President and CM K.Chandrashekar Rao (KCR) is seeking re-election while the lowest number of 13 candidates are in the race at Kodangal assembly segment, where TPCC President Revanth Reddy is contesting.
KCR won from Gajwel constituency, Medak district in 2014 and 2018 with significant margins. Now, he will take on BJP’s Eataly Rajender from this constituency and Congress’s T Narsa Reddy.
BRS Supremo KCR is also contesting from Kamareddy constituency for the first time and will face TPCC chief Revanth Reddy. 39 candidates are in the race after the withdrawal of 19 candidates.
Ruling BRs are contesting from all the 119 assembly segments while the Congress has filed candidates in 118 constituencies and has allocated one seat to CPI in the elections as part of an understanding between the two parties.
All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), a friendly ally of BRS in Telangana, has put up candidates in nine segments.
The BJP is contesting from 111 constituencies, leaving eight seats to its NDA ally Janasena of actor-turned-politician Pawn Kalyan.
Over 3.26 crore voters including over 1.63 crore female voters will exercise their franchise on November 30 elections in the state.
So far, law enforcement agencies seized Rs 585 crore worth of cash, liquor, drugs/narcotics, and precious metals in the state.
Cash seizures crossed Rs 202 crore while freebies worth about Rs 77.46 crore were seized since October 9 till date.