Share This News

Hyderabad, Dec 14 – In a significant development, Gaddam Prasad Kumar, a Congress legislator, secured a unanimous victory and assumed the role of Speaker in the Telangana Assembly, as declared by pro-tem Speaker Akbaruddin Owaisi on Thursday.

The announcement was met with congratulations from various leaders, including Chief Minister Revanth Reddy and his deputy Bhatti Vikramarka, who escorted Prasad Kumar to the Speaker’s chair. Members of the house joined in, extending their wishes to the newly elected Speaker.

Expressing gratitude, Chief Minister Revanth Reddy acknowledged the support from all parties, except the BJP, for endorsing Prasad Kumar’s candidacy. The Assembly saw backing from BRS, AIMIM, and CPI in favor of Kumar.

Prasad Kumar, representing Vikarabad (SC), had previously served as a minister during the Congress era in undivided Andhra Pradesh. The nomination process took place on Wednesday, with the election concluding on Thursday.

Owaisi also administered the oath of office to newly-elected MLAs, including Ministers Komatireddy Venkat Reddy and N. Uttam Kumar Reddy, along with BRS’ Rama Rao. However, BJP MLAs abstained from the House, citing concerns over Owaisi’s appointment, alleging a violation of rules.

The Congress, securing 64 seats, and its pre-poll ally CPI, with one seat, were instrumental in forming a significant coalition. BRS and its ally AIMIM also contributed to the alliance with 39 and 7 seats, respectively, while the BJP secured eight seats.